So Much to See, So Little Time

Although my Summer break from college is three months long, I feel as if it is so much shorter. I have so many places that I want to visit before I go back to my home away from home, Roger Williams University. I have decided instead of continuously thinking this in my head, I need to make a list. The following is a list of places I intend to visit before the summer is over. I have until August 27th, when I move back to school. Ready, set, go!

1. Block Island

via Google Images

First on my list is Block Island located in Rhode Island. My favorite thing to do in the summer is lay on the beach and just relax, reading a book, listening to music, or chatting with friends. There are  various beautiful beaches located right in my home state of Connecticut but Block Island would be a true adventure and a nice day trip. The ferry only costs $20.75 same day round trip. Sounds like the perfect getaway.

2. Mystic Aquarium 

I mainly want to visit the Mystic Aquarium because of all the buzz I have been hearing about the beluga whale there named Juno. The Mystic Aquarium was my favorite to-do when I was a little girl. My mother and I would travel there with my brother at least twice a month, we had a membership, and I loved every second of it. My most vivid memories from visiting the aquarium were the rescued animals and the beluga whales, located at the front of the facility, right when you walk through the gate. From the sounds of the YouTube video above, it sounds like it’s about time to take a trip back.

3. Hammonassett Beach State Park Campground

via Google Images

I want to visit Hammonasset Beach State Park not only for the beautiful beach there but for the camping! My younger brother, Michael, and I always used to “camp” in our backyard. My mom bought us this massive tent and we pitched it in the backyard. We slept out there all the time! I have never been real camping though and Hammonasset seems like the perfect place to try. The beach is packed by day and the campgrounds are packed by night. I think it would be an awesome thing to do with a group of friends. Beach by day, campfire and tents by night!

4. Six Flags New England

via Google Images

Six Flags New England is one of my favorite places to go in the summer. It’s the perfect day trip with a few friends who are looking to hit the water park on a hot day. Last summer my friends and I had a great experience at Six Flags. We visited on a day where it rained on and off all afternoon so by the time we made it to the water park, a lot of people had already left. We basically had the entire water park to ourselves, no lines and no waits. They kept all of the rides open because there was no thunder or lightening and it was hot out so we were glad to be in the water even though it was raining. Overall, I always have a great time and I plan to go back as soon as possible.

5. Carroll Gardens, Brooklyn, New York

via Google Images

Both of my parents grew up in Carroll Gardens located in the beautiful burrow of Brooklyn, New York. They met there when my mom was only fourteen years old. I visit frequently because most of their family still lives in the neighborhood including one of my closest cousins Stephanie. Randomly throughout the year, when we both have some downtime, I take the train into the city and meet her for dinner. Then we spend the night in Brooklyn and the next day. It’s a beautiful place with so much culture and so much going on. My favorite places to go visit while in Brooklyn are made up of mostly the delicious restaurants and cafes and the bars filled with all different kinds of people.  In addition to these spots, I like to walk Court Street where I can visit my Nana’s old apartment before she passed away, where my mother grew up, and go to church at Saint Mary’s Star of the Sea, where my parents were married.

This is my list for now. I think this is a doable list for the Summer before I go back to school on August 27th. As I visit places, I will post about them.

Until Later,

Caitlin

Leave a Reply

