Summer Diet.. The Right Way!

It’s that time of year, ladies, bikini season…

I don’t have any friends who AREN’T watching what they eat right now. Everyone is trying to get in their best shape for the beach, including myself. Dieting can be really hard, but really effective when you do it the right way!

Recently a good friend of mine brought to my attention that an old friend of ours lost a ton of weight. Although we aren’t friends anymore, I have to admit she looks great. Not for long! She literally just stopped eating. All she ate were fruit and veggies for months. Okay so now she looks great but what happens when she starts eating again? You guessed it.. all the weight is going to flow back. I find that a lot of people don’t know how to diet correctly and don’t realize how easy it can really be. I’d like to share my annual “summer diet” that I am currently in the works of.

1200 Calorie Diet

via Google Images

  • 1200 calories a day
  • 8 glasses of water per day
  • 1 hour work out at least 4Xs per week

By counting calories and getting some exercise, I am able to loose about 5 pounds in about two weeks and it’s totally healthy. I am still able to enjoy the food I love, I just have to portion it and make sure that I am planning my daily calories the right way so I don’t exceed 1,200. 1,200 calories is the minimum amount of calories a female woman should intake in a day. If you go below this your metabolism will not work quickly enough to burn the calories you are intaking, so make sure you are getting your full 1,200! Once the diet is over, you can start eating more but you still have to maintain a healthy lifestyle, or you will obviously gain the weight back with time.

TIP: If you are one of those people who really enjoys snacking throughout the day, make a fruit salad to bring with you throughout the day. Fruits such as watermelon and oranges, are extremely low calorie and can satisfy your mid-day cravings.

TIP: Use websites such as Live Strong and Calorie Count to keep track of your daily calories and learn more about how many calories are in things that you might be commonly eating so you can get a better idea of what you should cut out of your diet.

I did this diet senior year of high school and I lost 35 pounds in less than 2 months, just in time for summer. Since this time, I have gained back about fiteen pounds. Unfortunate, I know. I really need a change in lifestyle as far as my eating habits go. I am not a middleschooler anymore where I can eat whatever I want and nothing happens. My goal this time is to loose 20 pounds and keep off all of that weight. Then I will try to loose 5 more  pounds that way when I go back to school, I have 5 pounds to play with!

Right now I am down 4 pounds, 16 to go to my goal!

Until Later,

Caitlin

Leave a Reply

